Critically Analysing the Whole Brain Teaching theory

In my Professional Experience last year, my mentor teacher exposed me to a teaching theory called the Whole Brain Teaching Theory.  This learning theory takes on a behaviourist stand point on learning.  I had never heard of it before so I was eager to see what it was all about and how my mentor teacher used it in the classroom.

This YouTube Clip explains exactly how my mentor teacher used the Whole Brain Teaching theory in the classroom and it was honestly such an ‘AH-HA’ moment for me because it worked soo well with the class and once I became more familiar with the theory, I used it in all of my lessons which made behaviour management so much easier.

Although this theory worked really well with this particular class, I must admit that the class I was in was already quite well-behaved and only had a couple of students would misbehave constantly.  So, this semester in my professional experience I am hoping to use the Whole Brain Teaching theory to see if it can work well with a new set of students.

Critically Analysing the Whole Brain Teaching theory

Leave a Reply

